Hours of Fun

Craft and Haberdashery Shop – Bringing crafts to all ages, inspiring creativity and imagination

Formula 1 Car Birthday Cake July 18, 2011

Filed under: Cakes,Cakes for grown ups — Rachel @ 10:00 am

I got asked to make a formula 1 car for a birthday.  This presented me with another opportunity to practice my modelling, and after the success of the Tin Man I was looking forward to the challenge.

I got to use my new grass piping nib that Lou Lou had bought, which replaced the one that magically disappeared when making the shih tzu dog cake and the watering can cake!

The car wasn’t really edible as it had flower wire through the tyres and the red icing was flower paste so it had set super hard – to teeth breaking levels!  This cake topper has confirmed the need to not worry about making them edible, as support and structural needs must come first.

 

5 Responses to “Formula 1 Car Birthday Cake”

  1. LouLou :-) Says:

    Rach its so amazing. I am quite gutted I didn’t see it in person in all its glory. This is a classic example that your modelling is getting better and better. Its amazing. You have perfected the metalic modelling look defo! Its bright and its fun. I love it. Ben would love it too! :-)

    I often wonder where that nozzle is. I wonder where my lost one is too. All I can imagine is that like lost socks, they must be off having the time of their lives. Farewell fond nozzles, we wish you well! :-)

    • Rachel Says:

      thanks lots Lou, I have definately turned a corner with the modelling.

      I too hope the nozzles are off having lots of fun somewhere, nozzling to their hearts content! However they need to stop wandering off now as its not fun!!

  2. Chris Says:

    I love you Rachel
    I love looking at your cakes and reading your comments and your friends comments in fact I just love your friends!!
    Mum XXXX


Leave a Reply

